Words I Won’t Forget

Standard

lived toward •

When asked about it the day before, I requested that there be no special party or hullabaloo on my last day at work. I asked that the hubs and I have a joint one when we go. No special something just for me. The flowery speeches and attention mostly make me want to slide into a hole.

But, on my last day, when two of the girls I manage disappeared for an hour or so, and came back with two big cartons of bakery cookies, it was clear that this was going to go down like much of my time at the office: I can say what I will, people will smile and nod, and then mostly they will just do as they see fit.

In the afternoon, with no notice whatsoever, (again, typical) most of the staff gathered around a table full of cookies and snacks to fare me…

View original post 1,000 more words

About Syndal Leigh

Avid reader and peppermint tea drinker, softball coach, and crafter who has a love for roasted cauliflower and pizza and is learning the best things in the world are simple, sometimes countercultural, and extraordinarily normal.

Leave a Reply

